Sunday, 17 January 2021

On Sunday, 17 January 2021, SIM Formula Europe will organise one of Europe’s largest virtual racing events, the InterClassics Virtual Dutch Grand Prix, in cooperation with rFactor 2. Simracing, or simulation racing, is the only e-sport that comes close to the real sport of racing. The track, road surface, tyre wear, fuel consumption, the car’s tuning settings and weather conditions are simulated in detail. This technology makes the races nearly indistinguishable from the real thing and exciting to watch. Be sure to ‘tune in’ on Sunday, 17 January when Europe’s best simracers compete against each other live on the Zandvoort virtual track. The total prize money is €13,500. Due to the current situation and measures, all the finalists will be racing from home. The finals will be broadcast live from a studio at MECC Maastricht, in a historical setting completely in keeping with the theme of InterClassics Maastricht 2021, ‘Dutch Grand Prix Classics’.           

Time schedule:

  • 3 - 13 December 2020: hotlap qualification
  • 16 December 2020: semi-finals
  • 19 December 2020: qualification for finals
  • 17 January 2021: finals

Curious about any of the 10 finalists competing in the InterClassics Virtual Dutch GP? Check out the interview with professional simracer and winner of the 2020 edition of the event, Risto Kappet! Risto is a member of Romain Grosjean’s simracing team, R8G e-sports.

The e-sports event, including a SimRace Expo, live finals, e-sports conference, student seminar and races where visitors can get behind the wheel, racing down the Zandvoort track in a race simulator, will be moved to the summer edition of InterClassics Maastricht on 24 to 27 June 2021 at MECC Maastricht.

Win a cap signed by Niki Lauda!

The last winner of the Dutch Grand Prix 1985!

Vote for your favorite driver of the InterClassics Virtual Dutch Grand Prix and win a cap signed by Niki Lauda. During the live broadcast of the finals of the InterClassics Virtual Dutch Grand Prix Sunday, January 17th - 13:00 - 15:00 on L1 TV and rFactorLive one winner will be drawn at random out of all entries. Check out the 10 finalists and vote before January 17th, 14:30 CET.